Skip to content

Shigesato Itoi reflects on his friendship with Satoru Iwata

July 13, 2015

itoiiwata

After the devastating news of Nintendo president Satoru Iwata’s passing, Shigesato Itoi has updated his daily blog, Today’s Darling, with a post reflecting on his intimate friendship with Iwata. Iwata often stopped by Itoi’s Tokyo office when he was in town, and has appeared many times in interviews on the Hobonichi website, which he helped launch back in 1998. Hobonichi staff have compiled a list of some of the feature interviews they’ve had in the past. The interviews are only in Japanese, but you can find the list here.

The list does, however, include a 11-page interview with Iwata from 2007 that was translated into English, entitled “Mr. Iwata came to our office, and we had a nice talk over supper.

My unofficial translation of Itoi’s message from today’s blog is below.

When I’m parting with a friend, regardless of the circumstances, I find it best to just say, “See you later.” We’ll meet again. After all, we’re friends.

That’s right—nothing unusual about it. I’ll see you later.

You went on a trip far, far away, even though it was planned for many years from now. You wore your best outfit and said “Sorry for the short notice,” though you didn’t say it out loud.

You always put yourself last, after you’d finished helping everyone else. You were so generous as a friend that this trip might be your very first selfish act.

I still can’t grasp what’s happened. It feels like I could still get a light-hearted e-mail asking me out to lunch at any moment—after you’ve made sure lunch wouldn’t disrupt my schedule, of course.

You can invite me out whenever you want. I’ll invite you, too.

So for now, let’s plan on meeting again. You can call me up whenever you like, and I’ll give you a call, too. I still have a lot to talk to you about, and if I come up with any particularly good ideas, I’ll let you know.

So let’s meet again.
No–I suppose we’re already meeting. Right here, right now.

21 Comments
  1. bobbin permalink

    I was devastated when I heard the news too. It was just like when George Harrison and Michael Jackson died. Something really heavy crushing my will to breathe. Itoi’s note almost made me cry. Maybe they’ll meet in a dream like Murakami and Itoi did so long ago.

    I keep thinking about that guitar playing dog at the end of “Animal Crossing”…always thought that was Iwata’s icing on the cake. I hope Nintendo merges with SEGA, institutes system-wide achievements, and releases a new PlayStation Home-like aspect of the MiiVerse (in Mario 64-fashion), so they can stand up to SONY and Microsoft and continue the Iwata legacy.

    We never know when our time is up. Sometimes we always hear the Mario music getting faster and faster. Don’t want to cheapen my comment but, please sign my new petition to get great art like Iwata would have respected made before it’s too late.

    https://www.change.org/p/sony-marvel-walt-disney-make-us-spider-man-4-3d-put-tobey-maguire-kirsten-dunst-and-sam-raimi-back-at-the-helm?recruiter=2849980&utm_source=share_petition&utm_medium=facebook&utm_campaign=share_facebook_responsive&utm_term=des-lg-no_src-custom_msg&fb_ref=Default

    またね。

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Fun for Everyone
  2. Thank you, Iwata | Gaming.moe
  3. Earthbound Director Shigesato Itoi Mourns Satoru Iwata
  4. Satoru Iwata: prezes, twórca gier, ale przede wszystkim gracz - AntyWeb
  5. The Digital Download » Earthbound Director Shigesato Itoi Mourns Satoru Iwata
  6. Earthbound Director Shigesato Itoi Mourns Satoru Iwata | MinkiSan
  7. Earthbound Director Shigesato Itoi Mourns Satoru Iwata | Gamers Release
  8. Earthbound Director Shigesato Itoi Mourns Satoru Iwata - Gaming News
  9. Earthbound Director Shigesato Itoi Mourns Satoru Iwata | The Daily Ding
  10. Satoru Iwata: A Poetic Programmer | Unwinnable
  11. The Love of Translating | Source Gaming
  12. Shgesato Itoi le escribe emotiva carta a su amigo, Satoru Iwata | Atomix
  13. Shigesato Itoi le escribe emotiva carta a su amigo, Satoru Iwata | Atomix
  14. Shigesato Itoi le escribe emotiva carta a su amigo, Satoru Iwata - TodoJuegos
  15. Earthbound director Shigesato Itoi pays tribute to Satoru Iwata | HotGamesMagazine.Com
  16. Satoru Iwata Tributes | NintendoIgnited
  17. » Shigesato Itoi rende omaggio all’amico Satoru Iwata
  18. Earthbound Director Shigesato Itoi Mourns Satoru Iwata | ePlayerz
  19. Thank You, Mr. Iwata • Hello! I'm Jessica Cantlope
  20. Earthbound Director Shigesato Itoi Mourns Satoru Iwata | Joy Stick Report

Leave a comment